Is sherry vinegar gluten free?
Yes, sherry vinegar is gluten-free. This is because vinegar is produced through the fermentation of ethanol by acetic acid bacteria, and no grains, such as wheat, barley, or rye, that contain gluten are used in this process. Even if certain brands of sherry vinegar may initially start their fermentation process with gluten-containing grains, thorough fermentation and distillation remove any trace of gluten, rendering the final product gluten-free.
Is sherry vinegar halal?
Technically, sherry vinegar starts as sherry (an alcoholic beverage), before being fermented into vinegar, and this could potentially be a cause of concern among strict observers of a Halal diet. However, according to the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America, vinegar is considered halal because the process of turning wine into vinegar is a transformation (Istihalah) which makes an otherwise haram (forbidden) substance into a halal (permissible) one. Check that the product is certified halal by a reputable organization to be certain.